Little River Band - One Night in Mississippi

Whygold's Weekend

... under this motto I present you my music tip for the weekend. Maybe one or the other will discover something new. In my opinion, listening to music consciously is as important as reading a good book.

Today: Little River Band - One Night in Mississippi

https://music.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_kQwUdUqQhAhZErR_8YeNqdgTeqbFwL4-Q

The Little River Band is an Australian rock band. It was founded in Melbourne.

The group was formed in 1975 from the rock group Mississippi. Before that, Beeb Birtles was the bassist for '60s pop band Zoot and Glenn Shorrock was the lead singer for the group Axiom.

They had immediate success in Australia, but some band members had bigger aspirations. Like many other Australian groups, Mississippi and Axiom had tried in vain to break into the English record market. So they decided to focus on the English market in the new band.

A key factor in their eventual success was their manager Glenn Wheatley, who was bassist for Australian rock group The Masters Apprentices. Wheatley's experience of the 1960's music scene, combined with experience working in UK and US music management in the early 1970's, enabled him to help the band, the first Australian band to chart success in the US to become.

From 1978 to 1981, the Little River Band had six top 10 singles in the US with "Reminiscing", "Lady", "Lonesome Loser", "Cool Change", "The Night Owls" and "Take It Easy On Me". -Charts. During their career, the band has sold over 25 million records and has had 13 US Top 40 hits.

The Little River Band is considered one of Australia's most successful bands today. The original cast was inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in 2004.[1] In the 2010 comedy The slightly different cops, the song Reminiscing is used as one of the soundtracks.

The three founding members Glenn Shorrock, Graham Goble and Beeb Birtles continue to perform under the Birtles Shorrock Goble name.

(Source: Wikipedia)

A really beautifully produced live album with the Little River Band's old hits, partly newly arranged and instrumented.

Have fun listening to the music!

Your Chris Weigold

P.S.: Maybe you can enjoy the listening pleasure together with a glass of wine from our "World Symphony Edition".

Little River Band - One Night in Mississippi

Whygold´s Weekend

... unter diesem Motto präsentiere ich euch zum Wochenende meinen Musik-Tipp. Vielleicht entdeckt der eine oder andere ja was neues. Bewusst Musik hören ist meiner Meinung nach so wichtig, wie ein gutes Buch zu lesen. 

Heute: Little River Band - One Night in Mississippi

https://music.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_kQwUdUqQhAhZErR_8YeNqdgTeqbFwL4-Q

Die Little River Band ist eine australische Rockband. Sie wurde in Melbourne gegründet.

Die Gruppe entstand 1975 aus der Rockgruppe Mississippi. Davor war Beeb Birtles Bassist bei der 60er-Jahre-Popband Zoot und Glenn Shorrock war Sänger der Gruppe Axiom.

Sie hatten unmittelbaren Erfolg in Australien, aber einige Bandmitglieder hatten größere Bestrebungen. Wie viele andere australische Gruppen hatten Mississippi und Axiom vergeblich versucht, den englischen Plattenmarkt zu erobern. Daher beschlossen sie, sich in der neuen Band auf den englischen Markt zu konzentrieren.

Ein Schlüsselfaktor ihres schlussendlichen Erfolgs war ihr Manager Glenn Wheatley, der Bassist der australischen Rockgruppe The Masters Apprentices war. Wheatleys Erfahrungen in der Musikszene der 60er, verbunden mit der Erfahrung, die er beim Arbeiten im britischen und US-amerikanischen Musikmanagement in den frühen 1970ern gesammelt hatte, ermöglichten ihm, der Band zu helfen, die erste australische Band mit Chart-Erfolg in den USA zu werden.

Von 1978 bis 1981 erzielte die Little River Band mit „Reminiscing“, „Lady“, „Lonesome Loser“, „Cool Change“, „The Night Owls“ und „Take It Easy On Me“ sechs Top-10-Singles in den US-Charts. Während ihrer Karriere hat die Band über 25 Millionen Platten verkauft und erzielte in den USA 13 Top-40-Hits.

Die Little River Band wird heute als eine der erfolgreichsten australischen Bands betrachtet. Die ursprüngliche Besetzung wurde 2004 in die ARIA Hall of Fame aufgenommen.[1] In der 2010 erschienenen Komödie Die etwas anderen Cops wird der Song Reminiscing als einer der Soundtracks verwendet.

Die drei Gründungsmitglieder Glenn Shorrock, Graham Goble und Beeb Birtles geben unter dem Namen Birtles Shorrock Goble weiterhin Konzerte.

(Quelle: Wikipedia)

Ein wirklich sehr schön produziertes Live-Album mit den alten Hits der Little River Band, z.T. neu arrangiert und instrumentiert.

Viel Spaß beim Musik hören !

Euer Chris Weigold

P.S.: Vielleicht genießt ihr den Hörgenuss zusammen mit einem Gläschen Wein aus unserer „Orchester der Kulturen Edition“.